Yellow is the color of my failure

Just kidding, I’m awesome!

Dave-smileSuccess is much more sexy, but “faking it until you make it” sometimes sticks in my throat like a hard dinner roll making it physically impossible for me to mouth the words, “Everything is awesome, I swear.” Truthfully, this obsession with having a “rad” life free of pitfalls is frightening to me.

If I mention my failures, does that mean everyone will see me as such? Do I really always have to run my own personal PR campaign, playing down my mistakes and rejections?  The fact is the most horrible failures in my life have made me what I am today. Without experiencing them I’d be a completely different human being.

Part of this ideology stems from the roots of a corporate culture that threatens our ability to exist and communicate with each other honestly and in turn leads to a soul sucking void of meaningless interactions. According to all the PR and social media wizards flooding the net with this stuff, we should all maintain a bland presence on social media pages and blogs. No swearing, no political talk, no mention of your pain, not only is this stuff a bummer, but hiring managers may not be interested in you if you act real. The corporatization of America has to stop and you and I can begin our resistance by refusing to brand ourselves to fit in with the mono culture.

print-test-page-yellow

When I recently took a test about what color are you, I got red. Red is my favorite color, and yellow is my arch enemy. Its the name I gave to a band I joined that kicked me out and kept the name. It’s a color of my failure to fit in with the sunny disposition that makes the money flow. I’m red, inside and out, can’t help it.

One thought on “Yellow is the color of my failure

Leave a comment